Jack in the Box

..

Wood Bird Yantra

Wood Bird Yantra

..

In reply to dear Genie’s comment yesterday – I am Inside and outside the box!  Mouni Sadhu devised a contemplation exercise:  study the interior of an empty matchbox till it can be visualised precisely and perfectly :  then study the exterior likewise, every detail.  Then try to fit the two visualisations together, seamlessly.   This practice enables us to think and perceive four-dimensionally.

That is why I love the Cube of Space as a philosophical tool;  and why I struggle to build one in the way I do.   Inside and out.

I discovered while blogging yesterday, that I had sewn the Cube’s east and west squares THE WRONG WAY ROUND!!   I let the photo stand, to demonstrate my perils, mistakes and oversights, and re-cobbled the material in the evening.   It took hours to re-sew the two squares.   I DISLIKE SEWING and all its fuss and fiddle and my sore fingers and poor eyesight.

Anyway, here is the amended construction:

Here in principle is the Rosicrucean idea – a Rose Cross to meet in every heart of Life.  I love rediscovering this, although my arts & crafts attempt is somewhat scruffy.

Unknown rosebud

..

I think my best posts are about my problems.  I cannot for obvious reasons draw these out in detail.   But we all share the difficulty of encountering Life, and my way isn’t more “erudite” than a musician’s with her instrument.   I use the Tree of Life and Tarot Keys as coloured lenses.  My problems are Tarot Keys of their own, permitting the essence or “template”  to appear.  It is satisfying to dwell on a circumstance – like painting a picture and gradually filling things in – until suddenly a little lever releases, and it springs into life:  a fully fledged Arcanum.

An Arcanum is an illumined collection of Mysteries.   An Arcanum is a teaching-point:  a paradox:  a living bird just air-borne.

They fly in the alchemical flask.   They are the everyday things

An illustration from Alexander Roob's Alchemy & Mysticism

An illustration from Alexander Roob’s Alchemy & Mysticism

..

I decided to follow up “But … there is Hope in the Well”  with  “Along the Lane”;  as I rode my bike onward into the map last week, after bumping into the light.   But materialising my Cube of space, comes in between!

To cut another long story short – I accompanied Jack to Burnt Oak mental hospital yesterday, for him to pick up some pills.  He flushes them down the loo, as they are poisonous: they cause diabetes and worse, and carry the Elf & Safety warning.  But psychiatry’s hoops and loops are navigated as prescribed.   The E U is slicing disability benefits again, while the House of Lords – so one hears – spends £100,000 on redecorating the lavatory.  I feel the fear and distress of disabled persons all over the land.  Briefly … Jack has to play the game objectively, and supply Caesar’s pence – an object exercise to respond not as an ego, but as a statistic:  it is the form.   Inside the form is a crippling anxiety.  Inside the building is a nightmare of contagious fear.   The patients pace up and down the cage, waiting to be administered their poisons and bangs on the head, and sent off home again. Drugs, fear, clinical dysfunction, human degradation and the cheery cleaners – I felt sick.

When in panic, when boxed in, do something practical to earth it.   We went back to his house and began to fill up the renewal form for disability parking – overdue, and by now gone toxic. The local authority’s labyrinthian call centre was clapped to poor Jack’s left ear – we ended up laughing.   The tension changed and settled.   Slowly I remember, again:  Befriend the situation – any in life – adapt, soften with it.  Be sly.   Smile.   Deep inside, the way through is known:  just do it, step by step.

..

matchinthebox

matchinthebox

..

I went home and spent the evening re-doing the Cube’s east and west.  I am like Johannes Kepler with his ‘dear and diligent readers‘ – each error in his planetary calculus is enthusiastically shared, as integral to eventual triumphs.

..

JA JK Synastry

My natal Seal of Solomon – lode-star –  is In the astrology synastry with him.  And look at the mutual lunar-nodes Grand Cross!  And the Uranus-Neptune, Jupiter-Uranus conjunctions …  and his Midheaven on my Ascendent.  In my present life, I studied astrology intensively under his tuition and inspiration:  his music of the spheres, is mine also.

Yet I can’t have been Kepler in a previous life, if I was romping around with Simon Forman in London at the same period (said to be).  I may have known Kepler selectively on the inner and subtle planes.  He was a Capricorn, and so was S.F.  We human beings are mind-stuff.  The solidified texture we move within, and have our being and our stress, is a temporary facet of the world.  We do move freely in and out of each others’ soul, according to affinity, once we attain the gift to realise it conscientiously.

Did we but know !  It is timeless.  It is unfettered by storybook sequential incarnations in space and time.  I may visit Kepler or Master R any moment, if I draw together the vessel to catch the dew, and concentrate.  AFFINITY happens.   The Great Work, and all spiritual endeavour, consists in learning to travel Consciously in the planes and levels.   That means, to quieten and harness my headstrong I-thought process.  And so, freed from the unconscious barrage of the Netzach Hod Yesod merrygoround … a gentle amusement self-defines.  Reality emerges from the mist into shining bas-relief:  clarity.  In Malkuth which is Earth and Tifareth which is Consciousness, Kether the Divine thread stands tall like a Sequoia pine:  the sky within.   Perhaps group ritual work and worship boils down to this.

Young love & Mum

..

The Buddha is said to remember all his myriad lives, because the personalized dream doesn’t stand in front, obscure or apparently separate any of them.   And so the Avatamsaka Sutra has countless towers of individual Infinity:  the trees in the forest, each unique, and each containing the boundless forest.   This is life!   This is the countless incarnations!    When I am lost in my mouse-scurry, I see none of it.

..

conference of neuroses '87

..

A friend who blows wonderful coloured glass, writes long posts almost every day – well, at least 3 times a week, like I did last year.   We of the Illumined – who are stained-glass windows – cannot stop writing, ever.   We let in the light;  It writes us.    I write every day a trans-formation, and blog a few little things from it, which I hope might be useful.  I begin in the morning stiff and foggy, and I feel the muscle warm up, open and loosen, as the interior sun comes out.   It is the same as going for an early run, or a ride.

The musical tone in my mind this morning – I checked on the pitch-pipe –  is INDIGO – A-natural:  Saturn.   Saturn’s tattva or sense of touch, is AKASHA – keeper of the cosmic records:  cosmic memory.

Now, here is the Avatamsaka Sutra.  It is in one of my bog’s earliest posts – no harm in repeating it.   It is an Invocation for Life:

..

“THE TOWER is as wide and spacious as the sky itself.

“The ground is paved with (innumerable) precious stones of all kinds, and there are within the Tower (innumerable) palaces, porches, windows, staircases, railings and passages, all of which are made of the seven kinds of precious gems …

“And within this Tower, spacious and exquisitely ornamented, there are also hundreds of thousands … (innumerable) of Towers, each one of which is as exquisitely ornamented as the Tower itself, and as spacious as the sky.

“And all these Towers, beyond calculation in number, stand not at all in one another’s way;  each preserves its individual existence in perfect harmony with all the rest;  there is nothing here which bars one Tower from being fused with all the others, individually and collectively;  there is a state of perfect intermingling, and yet of perfect orderliness.

 “Sudhana, the young pilgrim, sees himself in all the Towers, as well as in each single Tower, where all is contained in One and each contains all.”

 Paraphrase by Suzuki
from the Buddha’s AVAMTAMSAKA SUTRA

..

Jim Ede with Gaudier's Bird swallowing a Fish

Jim Ede with Gaudier’s Bird swallowing a Fish

..

..

..

**

My adventure invites fellow travellers.  I am a poet, an artist and a seer.  I welcome conversation among the PHILO SOFIA, the lovers of wisdom.

This blog is  a vehicle to promote also my published work – The Sacred India Tarot (with Rohit Arya, Yogi Impressions Books) and The Dreamer in the Dream – a collection of short stories (0 Books). Watch this space.

aquariel link

All art and creative writing in this blog is copyright © Janeadamsart 2012. May not be used for commercial purposes. May be used and shared for non-commercial means with credit to Jane Adams and a link to the web address https://janeadamsart.wordpress.com/

One thought on “Jack in the Box

  1. Pingback: Sacred India Tarot Archive – A Preamble to the Suit of Arrows | janeadamsart

Leave a Reply

