Liverpool Art School 1968 – Sketchbook 4

..

archive

For a long time now, I wanted to get these old sketchbooks out of the cupboard and “archive” them, but kept putting it off.  This is the way to do it, and to share them!   Mixed media, felt pens, oil pastels and pencil … many of them were fixative-sprayed, turning the neighbouring line drawings purple over time;  and some of the black and white photos I took of Liverpool Eight and the Cathedral, exploded cubist space through my inner world.

See also my earlier posts – sketchbooks 1,2,3 and Mrs Mop.

street game

street game

..

Gallery  One

..

Ferry across the Mersey -  me on merseyside

Ferry across the Mersey –
me on merseyside

..

The big Liver Building on the water front was sooty black in those days;  it is now gleaming white.  The throaty chimes of its clock competed with the slapping of the waters and the honks of river and sea traffic through strands of fog.

Gallery Two

..

outside Ali Saleh Ahmed's shop, near Entwhistle Heights

outside Ali Saleh Ahmed’s shop, near Entwhistle Heights

..

I found a strange magic in the houseless fields of Liverpool Eight.  It had been heavily bombed in the war.   The flowers which grow hardy in bomb sites were these tough little kids.  When I revisited Liverpool in the 1980s, the ghosts of those old streets near Huskisson and Faulkner and Prince’s Street were criss-crossed by brand new council estates, with their tenacious grip on life … like a tangled Nasca pattern.

I saw the tender colours of the surviving terraces, day and night, in my love affair with Liverpool and with my young man in London.   The waste lands and the piles of old brick beckoned the unreclaimed cities within my soul.

Over the landscape, in all weathers, glowed the gnostic tower.

Gallery Three

..

cathedral & small monument

cathedral & small monument

..

Cathedral's wild steep side

Cathedral’s wild steep side.  One thing for sure:  inside and around this building was where I first prayed to God.

..

Gallery Four

..

The following are mostly of London.  My young man lived in Vauxhall: he was studying La Rivoluzione, and working in coffee-bars.   I boarded a lorry on Friday night from Liverpool, arriving in Camden Town around 4am;  then walked wide-eyed across the west end, through Soho and over the river, to our ramshackle love-nest.   The old streets there have long since been pulled down.

Gallery 5

..

liverpool 1968 - Impression

liverpool 1968 – Impression

..

..

..

**

My adventure invites fellow travellers.  I am a poet, an artist and a seer.  I welcome conversation among the PHILO SOFIA, the lovers of wisdom.

This blog is  a vehicle to promote also my published work – The Sacred India Tarot (with Rohit Arya, Yogi Impressions Books) and The Dreamer in the Dream – a collection of short stories (0 Books). Watch this space.

aquariel link

All art and creative writing in this blog is copyright © Janeadamsart 2012-2013. May not be used for commercial purposes. May be used and shared for non-commercial means with credit to Jane Adams and a link to the web address https://janeadamsart.wordpress.com/

5 thoughts on “Liverpool Art School 1968 – Sketchbook 4

  1. I love looking at sketchbooks like these. They often seem to capture the inner workings of an artistic mind in a very different and more free flowing way than finished work. I graduated high school in 1968 so these photos and sketches take me back to a far more idealistic time. Sounds like it was a time of great possibilities for you too, as it was for the world as a whole.
    Thank you for posting these insights into your early process.
    Steve

  2. Interesting collection I have never seen before. You certainly have progressed considerably since 1968 and I can see why you left Liverpool later. Still it shows the germ of the fine artist who was to follow. love Alan

  3. Pingback: Liverpool Art School 1969 – Sketchbook 5 & Lifedrawings | janeadamsart

Leave a Reply

