Robert – Popeye the Sailor Man

Protected by Copyscape Web Plagiarism Scanner

From “Robert Adams” group on facebook –

“Many people call me, they want me to talk about this, or to change some of the things I do, or to do this, or to do that.

If I were a minister or a philosopher and rehearsed the program, and had a written text to go by, then there can be changes.

But I am what I am, and that’s what I am, I’m Popeye the sailor man.

I do not plan anything.

I do not have any rehearsals.

This body just does what it does.

What you see is what you get, nothing more and nothing less.”

– Robert Adams –

 Image

Robert:  It has no end (1997, a posthumous portrait)

**

**

‘Student: I think part of the problem is, speaking for myself of course, is that I don’t believe it will happen. I feel it happens just to a favored few, like Jesus or Buddha or yourself. What’s the sense of trying it if it’s not going to happen?

R: Well, if you don’t feel it’s not going to happen, what can you do? Go see a movie. (students laugh) You’ve got to realize you are greater than you think, and you’ve got the same power within you as everybody else does. It may appear to be asleep, but as you work on yourself, work on yourself, work on yourself, you will awaken it. And one day it will become stronger than you are and take you over completely and you’ll be free. But you’ve got to keep on working on yourself and stop putting yourself down. That’s the worst thing you can do is to put yourself down. That’s blasphemy because you’re putting God down.

Think of yourself as a higher person, love yourself, worship yourself, bow to yourself. You are greater than you think.’

Robert Adams ♥

Image

myself ear Robert

**

**

A post from thewondrousdharma.com today:

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we’re liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

~ Marianne Williamson

This is from Marianne’s 1992 book, ‘A Return to Love’. It has been erroneously attributed to Nelson Mandela’s inaugural speech.

**

**

Image

Vessel, Spine, Mooncrab

“Let us form a Vessel”

In my mind today, with Popeye the Sailor Man, is this sketch (1987) of being the boat – spine and ribs.   Down the hatch …  The vessel is a taut membrane to the pressure of the deep – a parchment or papyrus for the pen.  Of course, the wisdom arrives from the deep as looking-glass script, and we automatically convert it!

Awareness tackles what comes along – sharp rocks, islands, lighthouses, sharks, sunshine, storms.  It is jaunty and nautical.  Down in the hold is a sense of gold – space of the boat’s shell, with along it, the curved flourishes of the hardwood keel.  The keel is six inches thick, and it goes right down into the deep.   In the golden space of the hold is all the boat’s furnishing of life, en passant … but I do not see it.   The keel is spine, the golden space is breath.

Now I am the sailor man!   The hands are because I was playing the piano, touching keys, practicing Cesar Franck.  The claws – oars of lateral sensitivity – each side, are my Moon-Crab sign.   We travel space through day and night, the deep.

**

 Image

Falling into Hermetic Self

and this is the dawn …

**

Image

Body tao tree

… and the Tree by the well.  All is well.

**

**

 

 

 

My adventure invites fellow travellers.  I am a poet, an artist and a seer.  I welcome conversation among the PHILO SOFIA, the lovers of wisdom.

This blog is  a vehicle to promote my published work – The Sacred India Tarot (with Rohit Arya, Yogi Impressions Books) and The Dreamer in the Dream – a collection of short stories (0 Books) – along with many other creations in house.  

I write, illustrate, design and print my books.   Watch this space.

2 thoughts on “Robert – Popeye the Sailor Man

  1. This gives me goose bumps! My inner friend and SMILE is Popeye the Sailor Man. I cannot separate him from his partner Olive Oil. Between them they stop me from taking myself too seriously even when the weather is grey, they watch me play….
    Thank you for a deeper understanding.

  2. I have always soaked up Robert`s transcriipts . HE speaks a language I totally comprehend . This one i have never read . Marianne`s words resonate deeply within . Again Jane your drawings and analogy are wonderful! Thank you so much !

Leave a Reply

